Test readers: I’m both grateful for and terrified of you at the same time.

Published June 22, 2017 by authorbebedora

Yup.

My book is at my wonderful test readers as we speak.

In their hands, in front of their eyes, ready to be either loved or loathed.  (I’m hoping it’s the first one.)  Will they enjoy it?  Will they feel connected to the characters and care about them?  Will they like my plot twists?  The battles?  The banter?  The ending? Will they think it’s utter garbage and (hopefully) nicely tell me to buzz off and quit this whole writing thing?

This is the first time that other people besides by husband have read this book in it’s entirety.  Yes, I’ve had friends over the year-ish read chapters here and there…and most of them have changed dramatically since then.  But this is the first time anyone will get their hands on the whole thing.  One of my testers is a gal who, after my husband, has the opinion I value the most.  She has been my fanfic beta FOREVER, and if anyone “gets” my writing style, it’s her.  Plus, she knows how the ENTIRE TRILOGY ends!  She read about 3/4 of the book a while back, before it was finished and as I wrote, but I will admit that it has gone through massive changes since then.  I’m hoping she loves it even more the second time.  🙂  My other wonderful testers are a great mix of fantasy genre enthusiasts and casual fantasy readers.  I hope I can live up to other fantasy authors in their eyes!

I’m no stranger to people reading other stuff of mine, though.  I’ve been writing fanfiction for years, and have had hundreds of reviews on my work.  But, this original piece is so much more than fanfic.  This is one-hundred percent mine, and it’s scary to think I have to make it work.

I can’t believe its come to this part of the journey.  In one month, it will be exactly TWO YEARS since I began this crazy adventure.  What started out as an idea for a “strategy guide” my then-7-year-old son wanted to write has blossomed into an full-blown, real-ass book.

When feedback returns, I’ll take what they’ve said to heart and try my best to make this book even better with their suggestions.  Hopefully it won’t be anything too major…(I’m looking at you guys…).  Then what?  Cut and polish, and query this bitch out.

Then I have to write two more…

Thanks in advance to my testers, this means the world to me that you’d want to help out and make this book awesome.  And hey, you’ll even get your name in the printed thank-you’s!  BONUS!

So, now I go back to (not-so-patiently) waiting for feedback to come in.  I’m not a patient girl, but I hope it will be worth the wait.  This waiting shit is killer!

Leave a Reply

