Just shut up and take my money already!

Published September 24, 2016 by authorbebedora

I’ve come to the realization that certain video game companies are conspiring against me in an attempt to ensure I never finish my novel.

I’m looking at you Bethesda and Square Enix.

//side eyes//

I’m coming up on one year since I started principal work on my novel.  In that time, Bethesda has released Fallout 4 and all the DLC that accompanies it.  I can safely say that the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and Nuka World have single-handedly derailed my progress on several occasions.  Okay, maybe not several.  More like dozens.  But who’s counting at this point, right?

I thought I was in the clear once the last Fallout 4 DLC was released.  I thought I would be able to concentrate one-hundred percent on finishing my work, and then moving on to the last two books in the series.

I thought wrong.

Skyrim Special Edition and World of Final Fantasy both come out in October.

Final Fantasy XV will be here by years’ end…hopefully.  (Quit delaying shit, Squeenix!)

The Final Fantasy XII remaster launches sometime in 2017

And let’s not forget about the game-to-end-all-games:  Final Fantasy VII remake.

That last one has a “who the hell knows” release date, but we all know it IS coming at some point. And it will be glorious.  And episodic, but that’s beside the point.  We’ll all deal with it and it will be incredible.

Where does that leave little ‘ol me?  Torn, that’s where it leaves me.

Damn you, Bethesda and Square Enix.  Damn you right to hell because you know what’s going to happen.  I’m going to buy those games.  I’m going to play the shit out of those games.  And I’m going to try and finagle my time so I don’t neglect my book.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go work on this novel–because I have an XMAS 2016 deadline for completion of the first draft and just a few weeks before my money starts flying out the door and into the hands of game developers.

Leave a Reply

