Poor ignored blog…

Published May 2, 2016 by authorbebedora

Yes, I know it’s been five months.  Yes, I feel bad.  My poor, sweet little blog.  But, cut me some slack.

This winter and “spring” (I use that term loosely here in Brew City) have been a whirlwind.  Lots of sicknesses (can you say “walking pneumonia?”) and lots of writing.  I’m proud of the latter, pissed at the other.  Seriously, walking pneumonia can kiss my ass.  I can’t remember the last time I’ve been this fucking sick.  It’s taken more than seven weeks, but my cough is finally starting to subside and I pretty much feel human again.

But, sickness aside, there has been major progress on my–still untitled–fantasy novel.  We won’t speak of how I pretty much think it’ll never have a title.  When I last updated, I only had one chapter.  Granted, it was a good one–but still only one.

Fast forward to today, and I’m proud to say that not only is the outline for the entire trilogy complete, (yes, you heard that right, this sucker is a series!) but I have eight full chapters plus a prologue and have just started a ninth.

When I was writing fanfic, I tended to churn out chapters much faster.  In the world of “write, beta and post immediately”, my turnaround was much quicker.  Readers of fic are voracious, and they want updates YESTERDAY.  Now, I’m really proud to say that my reader base was always very understanding about my few-and-far-between updates, and I’m going to toot my own horn and say that it was because I was really good at what I was doing.  They didn’t mind if it took me two months or two weeks to get another chapter out.  I’m really enjoying this new way of working, being able to hold onto everything and go back and change as I see fit–or in my case, come up with more backstory that necessitates edits in previous chapters.

Speaking of backstory, in these past several months, I have come up with so much of it that I could probably write books with just that content.  I probably would have completed more chapters had I not spent weeks creating backstory.  Yes, most of it will probably not be seen by eyes other than my own, but the content is so important to the overall story that it needed to be done.  I need to understand the world first, so my readers can enjoy it later.

I had always intended for this story to be told in more than one book, and just in the last week the timeline/outline for the entire thing was completed.  I’m fairly confident that there aren’t any plot holes, and that I can easily work with the structure I’ve created for the story.  I’m so excited, I can hardly stand it.  To see everything right before my eyes, how I intend it to be once it’s written, is very rewarding.  Now I just have to actually do it.

So, I continue on my journey of my first original piece.  I want to get as much as I possibly can finished before the boy gets out of school for the summer. Because once he’s out, mama belongs to him.  I can’t write when he’s around anyway, and I want to spend the summer hanging out.  He wants to bake cakes covered in fondant.  I have never in my life worked with fondant, and to be honest, it creeps me out.  But, I’m willing to touch it if it means having fun with the beast.

This means I have six weeks to create as much as I can.  Six weeks to lock everything down.  Six weeks to plan out as much as I can so I can make the most of my writing time after he goes to bed every night once he’s out of school.

I’m not giving myself a deadline for completion–I never have with anything I’ve written.  When I’m satisfied, then it’ll be finished.

Until then, I keep plodding away, loving every minute of this crazy ride that I’ve hopped onto.

Oh, and my characters finally all have fucking names.  Thank Jeebus.

Leave a Reply

