As More and More Time Ticks By

Published September 29, 2015 by authorbebedora

I’ve always been very optimistic.  I love to be hopeful.  Nothing’s better than anticipating something wonderful.

If you would have asked me three months ago whether I thought A-ha would come to the US, I would have said “absolutely.”  I knew our hard work wouldn’t go unnoticed.  I mean, we broke our asses getting the word out about our petition and just what it meant to have US gigs for thousands of fans.

Now, just a few days into what will be a seven month tour, I’m losing my hope.

Granted, I know seven months is still a long time, but as the days go by, I become more and more disillusioned.  Most of the months are completely filled, and the guys like to leave the “holiday months” for family, which I totally understand.  But, I’m guessing that means early November and most of December is out.  (And honestly, that’s not enough time to let people here plan and buy tickets anyway.)

So, that leaves us with January and February.  Again. not a whole lot of time to plan and purchase.  Now, I haven’t bought concert tickets in forever, but I would think that they like to get them out there more than four months before a show.  (My last concert was Tool in 2007.)

All the other months are filled with European dates before the tour ends in Oslo on May 1st.

I’m going to go out on a limb and speak for my fellow US fans:  (pardon me if these are not your views)

We aren’t any more deserving of shows than any other country.  We buy merchandise and albums (always imported) just like any other people around the globe.  We don’t love them any less than fans in England, Norway, Brazil or any other place.  We eagerly anticipate every bit of news, love every single photo and video that is released.  We cry along with songs we love, laugh along with silly interviews until our sides hurt.

We’re not the country who thinks of them as a “one-hit wonder”, although it sure seems like we’re perceived that way–more often than not by idiotic people in our own land who don’t do research before they write stupid news articles or open their big mouths on national television and/or radio.

I don’t know what else to do or say.  My two cohorts and I have worked our tails off–more than everyone probably can even fathom.  (Except for our husbands and families.  They know…believe me, they know.)  I often wonder if the fanbase here in the US knows just how much we’ve sacrificed for everyone.  How much we’ve endured to get our voices heard–all our voices coming out of the mouths of three women.  It’s hard to scream so loud sometimes and make sure  you’re heard.

It’s really hard to see everyone else get their concerts.  It’s painful to know that I can’t afford to go to Norway to see them in May.  I understand why I can’t go, and I accept it–even if I’m super sad about it.  I have a small child to take care of, a house, two cars and new siding to pay for.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t wish against everything that I could magically attend the concerts. Not everyone can just up and travel at the drop of a hat.

This is a cry to the management.

Don’t forget about us.  Don’t ignore us.  We love A-ha just as much as anyone else.  We spend our hard-earned money supporting them, spend our waking hours thinking about them.

I don’t know what else to do but to beg, I guess.

Please come here.  Give us our chance to see them again–or for the first time.  I have never had the honor of seeing A-ha in concert.  Don’t deny me and everyone else here a chance that the other people in the world are lucky enough to get.  In a perfect world, I could spend to my heart’s content and go to twenty shows and not bat an eyelash.  In a perfect world, I wouldn’t have to beg on behalf of my countrymen.

In a perfect world, I would wake up tomorrow and have a concert announcement.

Don’t forget about the USA.

Our love isn’t any different than that of any other country around the world.

8 comments on “As More and More Time Ticks By

  • I got an extra ticket to the May 1 show (pretty decent, section 3 row 17). I am holding onto it for anyone who didn’t buy a ticket cos they didn’t think they’d be able to go, but if in 6 months or so, something changes and they realize they can go, I would be willing to sell it for what it cost me to get it. – I only bought tickets on a hope that by the time of the concert I will be able to go. I understand. Unless something changes (for the better) in our financial situation, I won’t be able to go either. But I don’t want to think like that. I want to look at my ticket and tell myself, “when the time comes, I’m gonna be there”. And when the time comes, maybe you can be there with me!

    Like

  • YES!I am so hopeful that they will come to the US and hopefully the Midwest so that we can go. It’s not feasible for us to go to the European shows (I have the Fan Pass from my fan box, and I would mail it to someone going to the Germany shows in a heartbeat so they can use it!) because life is expensive and unpredictable right now.

    And I so hear you on the siding, we need a new roof. Adulting. Ugh. It sucks.

    Like

    • We still have hope…even though my rambling might have led you to think otherwise. LOL.

      We work every day to scream it from the collective rooftops of the USA. We just received our 1100th signature this afternoon, so we’re still kicking! If you haven’t signed, please consider doing so. ( I can’t remember if you did or not. If you did, just ignore me LOL)

      And the siding is done…now to pay for it. UGH. At least it’s up before winter hits. You and I both know how sucky it is around here from November to April. 😉

      Like

  • I’m in the same boat as you; I desperately want to see them in concert but there’s no way I can afford to go to Europe. 😦 I’m sure the guys and their management would make US/Canada shows happen if they could. It’s the record companies and concert promoters who are the real culprits, IMO. >:-(

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

