An open letter to Morten Harket, Magne Furuholmen and Paul Waaktaar-Savoy

Published February 18, 2015 by authorbebedora

Dear guys,

Here’s the deal.  You’re missed.  You’re missed A LOT.  We all know and understand that you decided to let go of A-ha to pursue other avenues, whether it be musical, artistic or personal.  We, as fans, respect that.  We’ve all enjoyed the solo albums that have come out, all the fantastic art that has been created and everything that you’ve worked for in other areas.

There was a collective cry of “hurrah!” when the Rock in Rio gig was announced.  Twitter and Facebook went nuts.  We were all so excited we almost couldn’t contain ourselves.  But here’s the thing:  only a very small portion of us can actually get to Brazil.  Whether it be for monetary reasons, travel restrictions or other factors.  I think I can safely say that we would all like to see you one last time–again.  And believe us when we say that WE ALL WANT TO GO.

There are many people who have seen you countless times in concert, and there are many of us (me included) who have never had the honor.  When one talks of a “bucket list”, seeing you would be near the top of mine.  (I would gander that it is at the top of many others’ as well.)

So, here’s my plea:  Give us one more tour.  It doesn’t have to be big, it doesn’t have to be long…but let’s have one last fling for old time’s sake.  Call it a “warm up” for Rio.  Some European gigs and some American dates.

*coughcoughCHICAGOcough* 

It would be a dream come true for me to see you perform live.  (I’ve actually seriously dreamed about attending a concert.  I won’t go into details, but I was asked up on stage by Morten and willingly accepted.  I remember saying, “Oh my God, look at all those people!”  He replied with a smile and a laugh.)

One more tour, guys.

Please.

For us.

Love, Me and all your loyal fans all over the world.

PS:  Remember and consider Chicago.  I’d make the 90-minute drive in a blizzard to see you guys.  I mean it.

Leave a Reply

