Writer’s block sucks.

Published February 6, 2015 by authorbebedora

I’ve been working on the same paragraph of one of my fanfiction pieces for close to a month.

Awesome, I know.

But here’s the thing:  it’s not for lack of trying.  I just can’t seem to get the words to cooperate.  The outline is there.  The ideas are there.  The characters are there–more often than not impatiently waiting for me to put them in some (usually dire) situation.

For a while, I thought it was because I had too many pieces going at once.  I mean, let’s face it–two multi-chapter fics, plus five oneshots in various stages of completion, plus beta work, not to mention my own original piece…that’s a lot.  But then I realized I actually work better when I’ve got a lot on my plate.

There have been many a night where I have both a Star Trek and Final Fantasy VIII piece open on the desktop.  I flit back and forth between both of them, chugging along as I occasionally look up to watch my husband rob a bank or terrorize Los Santos with an ill-gotten tank.  (Goddamn, I love GTA.)

I don’t know why, but I find myself having the most problems concentrating when the house is quiet during the day.  This should be my prime time to write:  no loud kid, no constant begging for a snack or water or an ass-wiping.  But there I sit, staring out the window, mentally cursing Jim Kirk and Leonard McCoy for being stubborn.  So, I switch to Final Fantasy and find myself angry at a certain Commander and his spunky colleague with her giant nunchaku.  I finally open my original work documents and make a little progress–I’ve come up with a list of the random-ass things I’ve found in the boy’s bed over the last few years.

Will it make a good chapter or “something” in my book?  Who the fuck knows?

All I do know at this point in time is that it’s cold in the house, I should probably do dishes, and if Captain Kirk doesn’t cooperate soon I’ll be forced to take drastic measures.

You hear that, Jimmy?

DRASTIC MEASURES.

I guess my readers will enjoy that, though.  After all, Hurt!Jim is what I do best.

One comment on “Writer’s block sucks.

  • Leave a Reply

