Words…words…ummm…words…

Published January 19, 2015 by authorbebedora

Okay, so, here’s my blog.

I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing.  There’ll probably be a lot of cussing, though.

I write fanfiction–Star Trek 2009, Final Fantasy VIII and Phantasy Star IV.  I’m also trying to write an actual book.  I watch Star Trek and love the music of A-ha.  (And after 30 years, their lead singer is still SMOKIN’ HOT.)  I eat too much candy and my kid is obsessed with Rammstein.  My husband is an aspiring screenwriter and likes to shoot facehuggers at me.  We quote Ghostbusters waaaaaay too much. My living room floor is littered with Legos and I’m pretty sure we have a posessed R2-D2 whatchamacalit.  Seriously, it beeps and “talks” when there’s no one even remotely close to it.  Demons, I tell ‘ya.

I’ve been doing this writing thing a long time.  I started in high school.  I had Economics class at 7:30 in the fucking morning.  When I wasn’t asleep in the back row, I was writing what I now know to be “fanfiction.”  At the time, I had no idea such a marvelous thing existed.  I just loved a video game and its characters so much–Phantasy Star IV–that I figured it would be cool to write a story about it.

And write I did.

Looking back, it was a total load of shit, but damn if I wasn’t proud of it when I did it!  It took me the better part of two years to finish, but it was long and involved…and full of errors. I recently went back and re-read a portion of it and had to hold in my barf.  Seriously, it was that bad.  Maybe someday I’ll revamp it.  I posted it on a now-defunct website and thankfully, it’s gone from the interwebs.  (actually, it’s still there…but you’d need some pretty hardcore detectin’ skillz to find it.)  The story is actually quite solid and I even started sequel, but I’m just way to fucking busy to do it right now.

Fast forward to 2003 when I found fanfiction.net.  It was as if the Universe opened up it’s doors and I was introduced to the wonderful world of fan fiction.  I read voraciously.  Phantasy Star, Final Fantasy, Star Trek…I couldn’t get enough.  I stumbled upon a certain story about a certain orphan-turned-hero without his whiny “girlfriend” and a beautiful and long-lasting friendship was born.  (you know who you are…)

I took a hiatus from everything fanfiction to squeeze out a kid and when he was a toddler, I came back.  With a vengeance.  I had ideas swirling around in my head that wouldn’t shut the hell up.  One day, probably while exhausted, wearing a shirt crusted with boogers and mushed peas, I decided to indulge the voices and write something.

And to my surprise, it got attention.   Lots of it.

That was all I needed.  I kept writing, wrote more and more and before I knew it I had several epic multi-chapter works as well as a dozen or so oneshots.

Writing is such a wonderful outlet.  Sure, I love being a mom, but sometimes I just need to sit and hurt Captain Kirk or make a certain Estharian President play truth-or-dare.  And let me tell you, once you’ve written an intense fight scene with a child jumping on the couch next to you screaming, “Mom, watch this!”, you realize you can do anything.

I’ve just begun my next adventure of an original work.  It’s in its infancy, but I’m so excited about it I could just scream.  I finally have time to work on it since the dude is in school all day and I don’t work anymore, so I guess I can’t put it off any longer.

Here’s to the beginning of my journey into writing something that is actually my own, and not just borrowing characters and torturing them.  (Because yes…poor Captain Kirk and Commander Leonhart have suffered tremendously…and will continue to…*evil laughter*)  This will be my space to rant and rave, probably swear a lot and muse about life.  Oh, and update anyone who cares to read my ramblings on my writing.

Like, thanks for reading, or something.

2 comments on “Words…words…ummm…words…

  • Yes. I am commenting. And Yes. I have a wordpress thingie too.
    I like this blog. And YOU my dear, are the FIRST blogger I’ve actually decided to follow. Billy will be next, I swear. I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. So..awesomeness-ness happens and I’ll be waiting to read your next literary regurgitation. 🙂

    Like

  • Leave a comment